Farming

Farming is always fun. The best part is when you decide to try something new and you do not have the foggiest idea what you are doing. This year I decided that I was going to buy a pair of ducks. I did. 🙂 I bought a pair of Pekins who I named “Sparky” and “Gimpy”. Gimpy well gimps…. his knee broke and did not heal correctly. Sparky is an odd duck. She does not always quack right. She honks a lot. Sometimes she sounds more like she is laughing or barking. Once my daughter (she is 9) told me that Sparky was acting like a turkey. When I asked her to clarify I got that to my daughter Sparky sounded like she was gobbling like a turkey. So Gimpy is one years old and Sparky is only a few months old. I want them to breed so I can have little cute ducklings next year but, I do not know when Sparky will start to lay. I did not know that ducks eat grass  until today and they have to be able to duck their heads under water to eat. Apparently that helps with their digestion. So that’s the fun about farming…..learning new things.

2 thoughts on “Farming

  1. When I was younger, my family had ducks (along with several other animals and pets) and one of them was attacked by a mink and was near death. My momma, animal love that she is, took it to the vet. Upwards of $1,000 and after six weeks of living in the house, we released it back to its friends . . . .the next day it was eaten by a dog. Haha, it’s a hilarious story now but at the time my mother was devastated and my father livid (we spent HOW MUCH MONEY on a DUCK!?). Hope you have all the best of luck with your duck friends 🙂

    • cowcrzy says:

      Thank you 🙂 I am too afraid to let them out of their pen so I think they will be okay. My chickens are free range but they are smart enough to get out of the road if a car comes and I’m not sure the ducks are. Besides I have a few more chickens than ducks since I’ve had the chickens for awhile lol.

Leave a Reply

