Hope

From Merriam-Webster.com (I love that site for definitions but anyhow) the definition of HOPE is as follows:
intransitive verb
1:  to cherish a desire with anticipation <hopes for a promotion>
2: archaic    :  trust
transitive verb
1:  to desire with expectation of obtainment
2:  to expect with confidence :  trust
Now I use Hope in the form most as a transitive verb and the second definition of that as well. “To expect with confidence.”
I expect with great confidence that life WILL get better. Truly, I really expect that it will. Sure, these times are bleak for everyone. They suck. People at war. People jobless. The issues with the government. Times are tough and not just for me, for everyone the world over.
What are you going to do about it?
Yes, I said it… What are YOU going to do about it?
I can do something. I can sit here and tell you how to hope but hope, great that it is, doesn’t solve everything. Hope gives you the confidence to get out and do something because eventually it will happen.  I am doing something. Right now. I am telling you how you need to hope, and you need to do more than hope, you need to do.
I have two jobs right now. Both of them are letting me go at some point due to financial issues. I could rant and rage over the injustice of this. But it wouldn’t do me any good. Would it? No. So back to the drawing board. Looking for a job. Eventually I will find one. I know this because I have that hope that life will get better. That things will be good once more.
HOPE
I love this picture. HOLD ON, PAIN ENDS. That, right there, is the embodiment of hope. It will end, just hold on.
So hope, and live, and do, because in the end it will get better. I know because I hope.
One thought on “Hope

  1. […] Hope (cowcrzy.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

