Some Days I Hate Being A Farmer

I had the cutest little chick hatch out this morning…However it had an unusual looking “growth” on its rear end. I took it over to my knowledgeable mother-in-law who said my cute little chick had a prolapse (Prolapse – when there is vent damage, typically caused by laying an very large egg (also referred to as a blowout) taken from http://afspoultry.ca.uky.edu/extension-glossary#P) This can happen in chicks who work too hard to get out of the egg.

Well, what upset me is this issue did not resolve itself. Instead, it got worse. It started to leak nasty yellow stuff. I decided to euthanize my adorable little chick instead of letting it suffer. I hate that part. I want the (insert animal here) to live. Life is amazing and extremely important.

Farming is a tough world to live in. Sometimes things don’t go well and the farmer has to make a decision regarding his/her livestock that is not easy. Many people think “That is just awful, how can you do that, you horrible person.” Let me tell you….Those decisions are not made lightly there is much thought and pain in the decisions they make. They have to look at the health of the animal, the quality of life for the animal, the blood, sweat and tears, put into that animal, as well as the cost of both keeping it alive and putting it down. People do that everyday in regards to their pets and sometimes even loved ones. It is not easy, which if you have ever been in that situation you understand. If you don’t…well you have to experience it to understand the amount of thought and grief that goes into these decisions.

I wish everyday was easy. That my animals don’t die. That I don’t have to make decisions like the one I did today. But it doesn’t always work that way and those are the days I hate being a farmer.

Leave a Reply

