I am a Fahm-her!

Between yesterday and today I hatched out 14 chicks in my incubator so far. 🙂 I am pretty pleased with myself as this is the largest batch I’ve managed to hatch out since I bought the incubator last September. Here’s a pic of the chicks that have hatched so far:

2014-06-03 10.16.00

Aren’t they cute?

I am not having a whole lot of luck with the seeds I planted. Not one has come up yet. 😦

However, my lilac tree after 11 years has FINALLY flowered! Yay!

2014-06-03 10.29.28

And the Giant Pumpkin plants, a friend gave me are doing well. (I think, I hope)

2014-06-03 10.29.49

To continue where I was going when I started this post…. I am fahm-her lol I thought about it for a bit this morning and most people (at least here in New England where I live and grew up) Farmer is pronounced (fahm-AH) but there are places where it is pronounced (farm-er). Then I wondered when did they drop the “h” before the “er”. Historically, women were the ones who worked the fields and took care of the plants. They were the original “farm-hers”.  Men worked with the animals. I guess I am a little backwards as I do better with the animals than I do with the plants but you know what…..I am a fahm-her and I am proud of it….and when I grow the biggest pumpkin and win the first prize at the local fair…I’ll go ha! lol.

Leave a Reply

