Things That Writers Do That Annoys the Hell Out of Me

Okay so you are a writer and you get published whether in a book, a newspaper, or a magazine, or even on a blog. That is GREAT! GOOD FOR YOU!
Okay, now there is a thing called EDITING. Do you know what that is? That is re-reading your work and making certain that everything is spelled CORRECTLY. Nothing annoys me more than to read a book or newspaper or magazine and find spelling errors. (Notice I left out blog… Somehow that doesn’t annoy me nearly as much as seeing it in print. Why? Probably because they have this person called an EDITOR whose sole purpose is to check for these kinds of mistakes. I’m beginning to think someone needs to up the requirements for editing jobs.)
The other editing thing that needs to be done is grammar checking. (Bloggers I’m including you in this one.) If you go through and check for spelling you might actually notice the grammar issues by using a word spelled correctly but is the wrong word for that sentence. Gosh, does that bug me. Like ‘Hello! That doesn’t make sense!’ Writers rely heavily on typing these days… But computers and laptops or phones can only do so much of the work. If you are a professional or trying to be a professional shouldn’t you write professionally? I.E. Making sure you edit for spelling and grammar?
I know I’m not perfect and nobody is but let me tell you… I know I’m a better writer because these mistakes annoy me so I make an effort not to make the same mistakes. I might but I know that (hopefully) if I read over what I write a few times I will (hopefully) catch all those mistakes I made. If I don’t… Well point it out to me. I’ll happily fix it and remember for next time I write something similar.

One thought on “Things That Writers Do That Annoys the Hell Out of Me

  1. aiyshah2014 says:

    Totally with you on this one!

Leave a Reply

