Today’s World

At the end of my spiel will be a bunch of links to various articles of what I am talking about.
Today’s world is a sad place…
Today’s world is a place that finds the commonplace extraordinary.
My friend, Crystal, has Mitochondrial Disease. It’s a genetic disorder that, well, even after reading about and hearing Crystal talk about, I can admit I still don’t understand. However, it causes a lot of health problems. Partly because of this and partly from an accident involving a distracted driver, Crystal is in a wheelchair.
So? Oh, my story does not end here. Despite everything Crystal deals with from her disorder she lives a normal life. She has a business ( http://littlefreeradical.etsy.com/)  and a family.

Now, I’m sure you are asking ‘just where the heck is she going with this?’  Just trust me….. You’ll get it in a minute… Keep reading.

Crystal shoveled snow.
This is an amazing story.
Holy cow a woman in a wheelchair shoveled snow.
Yay!

Okay slight sarcasm there. I am proud of Crystal. Not because she’s in a wheelchair and does…. Well ‘normal’ people stuff (don’t get me started on normal), but because she looked out for her community. 
I still remember when neighbors knew each other and helped each other out. This is not ‘normal’ anymore. The world is all me, me, me. We are too lazy to go do it because someone else can or it’s someone else’s job.

Puh-lease. Get over yourselves. Get out of your house (mom’s basement) and go do something. Shovel snow. Get groceries for an elderly neighbor. Take a walk around the neighborhood and actually greet the neighbors you walk by (I’m not advising going door to door just as you are out and about) and get to know them. See what you can do to help. It will make a difference.

This shouldn’t be ‘viral’, ‘amazing’, or ‘shocking’. It should be commonplace and ordinary.  Let’s all be more like Crystal and consider our neighbors.

http://www.cnn.com/videos/tv/2015/02/24/newday-good-stuff-wheelchair-snowplow.cnn

http://m.patriotledger.com/article/20150223/NEWS/150228601

http://m.wcvb.com/news/woman-in-wheelchair-shovels-town-sidewalks/31439264#.VOzjLBejrf4.facebook

Leave a Reply

