Outside the Box

I like to think outside the box. In fact I am not really a fan of boxes or lines. I want to escape boxes and rub out lines. I am unique. Unable to be defined.  So why do people try to define me? Put me in a box or behind a line? If I’m unique how can one describe me using labels? I cross labels, cross lines, think freely. You can’t tell me that I must dress a certain way, believe or think a certain way, because I will cross lines and go outside the box. Don’t define me with a label because I will show you that that label doesn’t fit. Tell me I’m Goth, I add color. Tell me I’m girly, I’ll find something especially manly to do. Tell me I’m Christian and I’ll show you magic. 

It is hard for anyone to break out of the norm. Society calls this a breech. To me a breech is when the baby comes out backwards. Doesn’t make it less of a miracle, less of a baby, nor does it make it abnormal. It happens. So why when someone comes along who thinks a little different, acts a little different, do we as a society call them abnormal? Is it because we don’t know how to handle it? 

Think of some great people who were considered crazy back in their time…. Albert Einstein, Benjamin Franklin, Galileo? Now we see them as a genius of their time. Why wait til their genius is long gone before we recognize it? People talk about “making a change”, “making  a difference”, “pay it forward” and I wonder do they truly understand what difference they want to make? I know the difference I want to make. I want people to see the lines that others make and erase them. I want them to see beyond one religion to see the great that crosses them all. I want to celebrate the unique, the weird, the strange, and the crazy every day.  Be different and own it. Don’t let anyone tell you how you are supposed to be. 

Leave a Reply

